Anime lover mode: ON!

Hello,

I’ve realised that I haven’t been talking much about anime and manga, mostly because I can feel myself growing up. Well, I don’t want to grow up because it’s scary. My mum had just gave me that talk about the future – college, moving out, jobs and the probably the scariest thing ever: marriage. Honestly, I can’t imagine myself with someone ten years after now, living in a cozy house with a few children, cooking dinner while waiting for my husband to come home. All I have ever thought about was what subjects I should take to get my PhD in human mind and brain, and what job I should take in the future – preferably something not boring.

okay, so I might have contradicted myself earlier because my first half doesn’t want to grow up but my other half is already a mature enough woman. And that just tears me up because my mature self would always win.

So to feel young again, I’ve decided to review 2 anime’s I began watching.

* * *

I’ve recently started watching this anime called “Cuticle Detective Inaba” and it was so random! Okay, so I found out about this anime from this scanlation website I always go to (because they scan and translate most of the mangas I read) and I decided to read the manga. When I went to Manga Fox, there was only one chapter that was translated so I thought to myself “Okay, let’s try this manga – the summary sounds really epic”. I ended up loving it.

I’m not a really critical marker so maybe I’m being too generous on rating this anime but I really enjoy watching it, maybe because of my weird sense of humour or maybe because I pretty much laugh at everything. I admit that the show has flaws like any other, like some lame jokes thrown in some scenes just for the sake of it, but I think it’s another ingredient to make life seem more lively. What’s the probability that you will meet a goat mafia boss or a werewolf/police dog with a hair fetish? And how the characters exaggerates everyday activities is really refreshing for someone who would choose couch over dates.

“Cuticle Detective Inaba” is just full of idiocy and randomness that will keep you interested. Plus, the storyline of each episodes are just messed up – in a good way – and the characters are very adorable in a crazy way. I just love how Kei is the only “normal” guy among all the other characters and I fins Yuuta’s sadism really entertaining; Inaba is a very lovable police dog, packed full of cute, cool and WTH, and Ogino loves his daughter so much that he doesn’t notice his wife (I mean, really?!). And though he’s not all that popular, I really like Lorenzo because of his ridiculousness…and his sack head. Hey, I like the other characters too! Don Valentino’s the greatest mafia boss ever – yes,ย ever!ย He should be the president or something!

Then again, your taste may not be the same as mine but if it is, then I would recommend this anime.

* * *

The other anime is “Sword Art Online”. I think most of you will agree that this anime is awesome, especially for game geeks or tech geeks. My friends had been talking about it a lot and one day I’ve decided to check it out for myself. They were right – it was addictive!

The storyline is kind of expected. I mean, it’s a good story but how many we’re-trapped-in-an-evil-video-game-slash-artificial-reality stories can you find? I know some (“Tron” is one of them). To add to that, it’s an RPG (not that I hate it – it’s just expected considering where the story is going). And the actions in some scenes were cliche-ish, like fight scenes where the main character gets to look like the only strong one out of the group. But I think the flaws got easily covered up with the characters and artwork. The characters in the anime may be what you’ll expect in a shounen anime but there will always be something that would make them special. As for the artwork I personally grade it as one of my favourites. The animation’s also great throughout all the episodes and you don’t simply find that in any anime; some anime animations are like as if the animators were only copy and pasting images from manga but coloured and that just aggravates me.

I know I said that the characters weren’t that bad but that doesn’t mean I really like them. No. I think they’re cliche. Sorry, I don’t mean to sound like a douchy reviewer (really, I don’t plan on being one) but the characters are just…I can predict what they’re going to do before they even think. In “Cuticle Detective Inaba”, the characters are unpredictable and that’s what makes me anticipate the nest episode and so on but “Sword Art Online” characters are what you would expect in this kind of anime. Especially the girls. I dislike most girls in anime’s because they are either potrayed as accidental moe characters or strong but weak at the same time. I repeat: my taste may not be the same as yours so bear in mind that I am pretty twisted in terms of certain things, mainly entertainment, art and the future

But I like some characters, like Klein! Klein’s like the bestest friend anyone can have when you’re trapped in an evil RPG! I mean, he’s like a brother but a friend! I wish he’s real because he’ll be like Junpei Iori from “Persona 3” but not as sulky and childish.

So if you’re looking for a classic shounen game related anime, this is the anime for you!

* * *

…And that’s the end of my rant. You don’t need to read it, really, because most of the things said were purely my opinion and most of the things I say wouldn’t make sense to most people. But thanks for reading if you did, anyway. See you next time!

-rookieMANGAKA

Categories: Anime, Journal, Manga, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

