Lee Hi – Rose

Hello,

I just watched Lee Hi’s “Rose” MV and I was amazed! The song and the MV goes really well together and the concept is just beautiful, a great change to Lee Hi’s previous cutesy-badass image; it seemed like she had grown up! It looks like the MV director is probably the same one who did “That XX” by G-Dragon, but I must admit I dig this director’s style. There’s just more reasons for me to like YG MVs more and more because there’s just so much art and symbolism – and we all know I am an artist by heart but a scientist by brain.

Before, I had been listening to B.A.P’s “One Shot” and Lee Hi’s “It’s Over” but now I have another favourite K-Pop song of 2013 – yay!

And after watching the MV, I decided to check the translation of the lyrics. It was like reading a femme fatale’s inner heart, like how she knows she is beautiful but deadly, but she loves this guy so much she doesn’t want him to get hurt because of her, and so she’s telling him to get away from her instead of getting him to stay with her. It makes sense though, because if you watch the MV, you can see Lee Hi being surrounded by pretty white, pink or red roses and dancers in some scenes but in other scenes she was surrounded with sharp needles, banners that say things like “Run Away” and “Every Rose Has Its Thorn”, and also a scene where she’s trapped in red coral-needle-like thing. And then there were soldiers going through the needle battlefield with red paint explosions, symbolising how the men that likes her will have to go through if they were to stay with her – pain, difficulty and explosions – all the while Lee Hi just looked so indifferent and pretty (she’s so pretty!).

I don’t mind that there’s no dance for the music – in fact, I’m glad there isn’t any box-dance session (*cough**cough*SM*cough*). I don’t think there can be a dance that can suit the song, not that it’s a bad thing.

I still remember seeing Lee Hi for the first time in KPop Stars. I didn’t know she’ll be this huge but I’m really impressed. I can’t wait for her other songs!

-rookieMANGAKA

Categories: K-Pop, Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

