Like, what?

Hello,

So I was bored and whilst reading some random blog post, I found this website called I Write Like. Basically, it’s this website that lest you paste a sample of your writing and then it matches your style of writing to a famous author. In boredom – why else would I do it? – I decided to check this website out for myself and paste Deus Ex Machina chapter 15 to the paste box. The results were…well…surprising, if not impossible and unbelievable.

I write like
Dan Brown

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Truth: I thought it was bull. I don’t think my writing is as brilliant as “The Da Vinci Code” or “Angels and Demons”. So I did the thing again but this time with another story: “Somewhere Only We Know”. That’s right, the web machine gets to read it earlier than you! When I entered the story, it told me this:

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Don’t get me wrong; I love Dr, Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

I didn’t really get what it meant, but I guess it depends on what kind of story I’m writing, because I tend to change my style and techniques depending on the subject and plot. Or sometimes it’s just based on what mood I’m in – when I’m too absorbed in the story, I tend to forget some details and when I’m fresh and thoughtful, I feel like adding more metaphors and imagery to my writing. And when under pressure, like in tests, I just write whatever crap comes to mind. However, through whatever haze, I guess there is similarities in my writing.

But I’m don’t really trust the results though, I mean, I did some background researches on the website and stuff (see what I do once I get hooked on a subject?) and I found out that besides from the fact that the website is quite new, the accuracy of the machine still needs improving and it only has 50 different authors and a few samples of their books in its database. I’m guessing that the creator only put really famous authors and not the beginners or not that well-known – no offence, by the way.

I do want to someday be on par with these awesome writers so my current aim – aside from getting to a good university, get my MD and then learn neurology – is to improve my writing skills so that I will be confident in truly publishing my stories (like what everyone told me to do) and proudly walk around town saying “Hi, I’m rookieMANGAKA!”. But first, I’ll need to check and edit my works, or possibly get someone to do that for me because really, I don’t trust my own judgement.

Well, anyway, see you next time!

-rookieMANGAKA

Categories: Journal, Story, Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

