I got books!

Hello,

After I watched “Man of Steel”, I went to the book section in this supermarket (I still think it’s weird that they sell books and food together) and I found the greatest classic section ever. There were lots of Jules Verne books like “Around the World in 80 Days” and other young adult novels, except I don’t really read young adult novels except for the “Hunger Games” trilogy, which I read out of curiosity and interest. I had planned on buying three classics, but my dad insisted that I should buy a book by Sidney Sheldon. I didn’t know who he was but after some background research, he was an Academy Award-winning fiction crime-thriller novelist that had a 20-year period of successful career. He died on 30th January 2007 at the age of 89 from pneumonia. Since I’m also interested in crime books (a thing I discovered after reading “No Second Chance” by Harlan Coben, which I thought was brilliant), I decided to grab one of his books, “Windmills of the Gods”.

The edition of “No Second Chance” that I have. A great book, it is.

Aside from Sheldon’s book, I also took “20 000 Leagues Under the Sea” by Jules Verne and the last copy of “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I know about “20 000 Leagues Under the Sea” from a passage I read in Year 7 for a comprehension practice, and I liked Captain Nemo’s traits after reading the extract about the attack by the sea monster. I know about “The Great Gatsby” when I was browsing the internet about the greatest books ever written. I stumbled upon the name, did some background research and thought about reading the said book. I enjoyed Fitzgerald’s short story “The Mysterious Case of Benjamin Button” because it was weird but sweet at the same time – I watched the movie before reading the story, by the way. Then, the Baz Luhrmann version of “The Great Gatsby” came out and then I saw the trailers and listened to the soundtracks – the songs were all beautiful, especially “Young and Beautiful” by Lana Del Rey and “Over the Love” by Florence + the Machine – and I just really want to read the book. Then I saw that lonely copy of the famed novel on the shelf, and I took it without hesitation. I can’t wait to read it! In fact, I can’t wait to read all of my three new books!

WP_000663

So, what books did you just get? What will you read this summer, or are currently reading? Do you think the book is good, or is the book you’re reading good?

-rookieMANGAKA

 

Categories: Books, Journal, Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

