Drum roll, please

Hello,

Guess what day it is today? It’s reports day! That means I’m getting my grades today! Yay and OMG WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?!

I admit, I think my grades will be good but hear me out: my family does not accept “B”s. Yep, it’s the same old Asian system. In my family terms, a “B” is like an “F”, and a “C” is like a total fail. As for a real “F”, that’s a “You don’t deserve to live anymore”. So yeah, I really hope my report is graced with “A”s and only two “B”s, because I’ve only got two “B”s on my previous reports.

Well, it’s not like I’ll fail Year 9 – in fact, you can’t fail Year 9. My friends and sister said that it’s because the real deal starts at Year 10 and Year 9 is just some kind of preparation for the IGCSE, which will be at Year 11. So that means that Year 9 is prep year, Year 10 is pre-IGCSE and Year 11 is the year you should consider as the forked road that either leads to the Stairway of Heaven or the Highway to Hell. For some reasons, the Year 11s I knew didn’t look that stressed out about studies…well, at least the ones that don’t care or the ones that are really confident. But still, I’ll have to study hard if I were to get brilliant IGCSE results by the end of Year 11; I heard the test lasts for, like, a month and there’ll be about 6 papers for each subject. God, I beg for your help.

So going back to grades, I just hope I don’t get a “B” in Maths, Physics, Biology, Chemistry or ICT, because those are my gateways to my future success. I am really nervous right now because my mum and dad will leave to get the reports at about 12:30 PM because the reports-taking event will start at 1:00 PM. It’s now 11:30 PM – another hour before they leave. The scary thing is that my parents get to see my reports before I do, which means I can’t get rid of the evidence before they know.

Right, now for confidence boost. My peers have always called me a “genius” because I always get “A”s and I had always been in the top set for my subjects, but truthfully I just think I learn faster that others as opposed to being smart…That’s the same thing as being smart, isn’t it? I just don’t get why people would put high expectations on me. I mean, sure I do well and even better than others, but that doesn’t mean that I am more enthusiastic about achieving perfect grades in my school years. I understand that it is important but I do have a life; I seek fun in many things such as reading comics (American and manga), novels and anything educational and interesting, drawing, listening to music, and sleeping. Oh yes, I love sleeping. One of the things I dislike is being under pressure and being put on a pedestal. Ha! I’m normal!

Meh, I guess I’ll just have to wait for whatever pays of for my studies. My brother and sister had been pestering me to give the reward to them because the only I want for a reward is more books and comics. Such a geek, I am.

Please pray for me, guys! Oh, and I hope you have good grades too!

-rookieMANGAKA

Categories: Journal, Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

