Being old is annoying

Hello,

To all of you little people who wish to grow up: I know you’ve heard this often, but it’s true – growing up is a trap. It’s a cleverly laid out invisible trap that every children falls into…Except for little geniuses who just wouldn’t grow up. I respect those people. It’s true that you’ll get more freedom in your actions but there are heavy restrictions that goes along with that freedom. Education is the most annoying one in my opinion, because education is a social system where it’s been constructed for you instead of you having to construct it yourself, and we all know how hard it is to speak other people’s words instead of your own – it sounds forced and artificial.

I just had my maths test on Tuesday and I was expecting to get my results back today because my maths teacher is a quick marker. Unfortunately, he didn’t get to finish all of the papers, but other sets got their tests back.

In my school, most of the subjects – the main ones, like Maths, English and the three sciences, and also modern languages – are separated into sets. In Maths, the smartest people are in Set 1, while the less fortunate people are in Set 5. Set 3 already got their results back, and they said, and I quote: “Our class average is 34%”

…And I just stood there, processing the words. Set 3’s average mark is 34%. And then I heard that Set 4’s average mark is 33%. What I want to know is what Set 2’s average mark, and then I can finally panic, or vomit. If Set 3 is that bad, how about Set 1? I’m in Set 1, and I found the maths test pretty frustrating in some parts – everybody in the whole year found the paper frustrating. But I never thought that the results would be this bad…

I have Chemistry test tomorrow and I am very sure that I am more than prepared for it…until a few moments ago. I just got back from this quiz evening at my school, called “Are You Smarter Than Year 7?”, to which our team won 3rd place. After the winner announcement, we spotted one of the chemistry teachers and asked him about the test layout. He told us the multiple choice part consists of everything we have learned so far in Year 10, while the written part is all about stoichiometry. Set 1 Chemistry – my class – has been spending a good deal of our revision lessons on stoichiometry, but we didn’t emphasise on other areas. Well, it’s a good thing I did a practice paper on ionic equations and other September topics.

Upcoming tests include Physics and Business Studies, and we are preparing for IGCSE type tests in English Language and English Literature, and we are starting a coursework for French. It’s actually very hectic if you’re not used to the work set out in the classes, but then again I can easily adapt to work conditions. It’s just that I tend to stay up late and relax a bit after doing homework, and then I have to wake up really early to go to school – and then there’s that nagging thought about university choices and the future at the back of my head, banging incessantly whenever I try to forget. Things like scholarship, university place, courses I’ll take…I would love to just go back to the simpler days.

-rookieMANGAKA

Categories: Journal, Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

